Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mys

Danger is only ever one step away...

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mys
Pris
29,-
E-Bok
LAVEST PRIS! - ingen er billigere på nyheter.
Gjelder både KLIKK&HENT og NETTBESTILLING.
E-bøkene legges i din ARK-leseapp. Bøkene kan også lastes ned fra Din side.
×
Logg deg inn for å gjennomføre dette kjøpet med ett klikk!

Etter at kjøpet er gjennomført vil boken være tilgjengelig på «din side» og i ARK-appen
Format E-Bok
Kopisperre DRM
Filformat EPUB
Utgivelsesår 2012
Språk Engelsk
ISBN 9780755397136
Serie Thomas Pitt Mystery

Andre formater / språk

Nedlastbar lydbok Nedlastbar Engelsk
×
Logg deg inn for å gjennomføre dette kjøpet med ett klikk!

Etter at kjøpet er gjennomført vil boken være tilgjengelig på «din side» og i ARK-appen

Om Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mys

Will Pitt be able to uncover the unspeakable truth behind two women's deaths? Loyal, honest and, above all, principled. There is no finer detective in Victorian London than Thomas Pitt; the protagonist of Anne Perry's acclaimed mysteries. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes. 'Sweeping and scandalous... Perry has perfected a delicate touch' - New York Times Book Review It is 1896, and Thomas Pitt is in charge of Special Branch. He is beginning to understand the power he now commands, but is still ill at ease at the glittering events he and his wife Charlotte must attend. During a lavish party at the Spanish Embassy, a policeman breaks into Pitt's conversation with investor Rawdon Quixwood to break the terrible news that Quixwood's wife, Catherine, has been viciously assaulted at their home, and left for dead. Worse still, it appears that the assailant was someone she had trusted as she opened the door to the attacker herself. At the same party, Charlotte sees Angeles Castelbranco, an ambassador's daughter, flinch in fear at the teasing of some young men. A few days later, she flees from the same group and, in her terror, falls from a window - what could have caused her to take that fatal step? Pitt and his friend Victor Narraway vow to uncover the unspoken truth behind these two women's deaths. But as they investigate, deception and violence get ever nearer and danger is only ever one step away... What readers are saying about Midnight at Marble Arch: 'The story is very compelling and keeps you guessing until the end' 'Intelligent, gritty... and heartfelt' 'Excellent. Brilliant story and superb characterisation'

Sweeping and scandalous... Perry has perfected a delicate touch That rare breed of novel that's a page-turning thriller yet literary A surpassingly excellent historical and psychologically intricate mystery A murder mystery made to make you think Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes [Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist

Kundevurderinger

ARKs anbefalinger

Det finnes ingen vurderinger av dette produktet. Skriv anmeldelse

Tips en venn