The Fatal Flame

Forfatter
Spar {0}
Spar {0} som ARK-VENN
{0} til nettpris
med Klikk&Hent
Format/språk
   Klikk og hent - få varen innen 1 time*
   Alltid bytterett - Norges beste. Bytt uten kvittering.
* Gjelder varer på lager i butikk

Kort om boken

'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. THE FATAL FLAME is the stunning third novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. A scarred barman turned copper star, the birth of …

Oppdag mer

Velg tagger...

    Om The Fatal Flame

    'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. THE FATAL FLAME is the stunning third novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. A scarred barman turned copper star, the birth of the NYPD, gangs, murder, brothels and bedlam in the dark underworld of nineteenth-century New York. Timothy Wilde - copper star, tough with a warm heart, learning his craft as a detective. Valentine Wilde - Timothy's gregarious, glamorous, depraved rogue of a brother. Mercy Underhill - The intelligent, creative but unstable love of Timothy's life. Silky Marsh - The beautiful brothel owner whose scheming knows no bounds. Against the gritty backdrop of the notorious Five Points in 1848, Timothy Wilde is drawn yet again into a disturbing mystery, leading him to the heart of the Bowery girls, the original 'factory girls' in downtown Manhattan. Someone is starting fires on the streets of New York and Timothy has to unravel a knot of revenge, murder and blackmail if he's to find out who is behind it all and stop them before the whole city goes up in flames...


    Lyndsay Faye's New York trilogy is immersive, compelling, convincing, and yes, thrilling. Read it today for solid-gold entertainment, but don't be surprised to see it taught in college tomorrow Reanimates a menacing 19th-century New York Cracking yarn Vibrant Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave Lyndsay Faye began a terrific series of novels with the great New York Fire of 1845. The Fatal Flame picks up the narrative in 1848 with the further adventures of Timothy Wilde, a proud "copper star" in the newly formed police force. In the course of investigating an incident of arson in the shoddy "manufactories" that depend on the sweatshop labor of desperate Irish immigrant girls, Wilde comes to the defense of a radical feminist crusading on behalf of these exploited women As always in this series, the research is impeccable and the period ambiance dazzling

    Kundevurderinger

    Totalvurdering: 

    Gi din vurdering: 
    Totalvurdering: 

    Detaljer

    Format
    E-Bok
    Kopisperre
    DRM
    Filformat
    EPUB
    Utgivelsesår
    2015
    Språk
    Engelsk
    ISBN
    9781472217387

    Anbefalt

    Nettleseren din er utdatert

    Mye funksjonalitet på ark.no støttes ikke lenger i Internet Explorer. Vennligst bruk en nyere nettleser.