The Good GuyA deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America

Forfatter
Spar {0}
Spar {0} som ARK-VENN
{0} til nettpris
med Klikk&Hent
Format/språk (2 forskjellige)
   Klikk og hent - få varen innen 1 time*
   Alltid bytterett - Norges beste. Bytt uten kvittering.
* Gjelder varer på lager i butikk

Kort om boken

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016 A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiratio…

Oppdag mer

Velg tagger...

    Om The Good Guy

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016 A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes. (P)2017 John Murray Press


    A joy Inspired by the author's own experience, The Good Guy is a story of marriage, self-deception and the pressure to conform in Sixties suburban New England A delicious, slightly gossipy summer read with a Mad Men feel to it. I'd especially recommend this to readers who enjoyed The Longest Night by Andria Williams and Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann There's definitely a Mad Men vibe to The Good Guy Fresh and lively Beale has crafted an engaging and harrowing portrait of womanhood and domestic life, astutely exploring the many ways in which distance and proximity can co-exist Extremely well-written, intelligent and perceptive, this also happens to be a novel that slips down like ice-cream on a hot day. I absolutely loved it What makes Beale's writing so poignant is her ability to paint her characters with such acute attention to detail The Good Guy is a very strong debut and a novel that kept me gripped to the very end. Beale is exceptional at creating believable characters that evoke genuine sympathy and scorn in equal measure The Good Guy is no honeyed exercise in nostalgia: it's an exploration of the deception and conformity at the heart of the American dream

    Kundevurderinger

    Totalvurdering: 

    Gi din vurdering: 
    Totalvurdering: 

    Detaljer

    Format
    Nedlastbar lydbok
    Kopisperre
    Vannmerket (SDRM)
    Utgivelsesår
    2017
    Språk
    Engelsk
    ISBN
    9781473660229
    Spilletid
    608min.

    Anbefalt

    Nettleseren din er utdatert

    Mye funksjonalitet på ark.no støttes ikke lenger i Internet Explorer. Vennligst bruk en nyere nettleser.