The End of Your Life Book Club

Forfatter
Spar {0}
Spar {0} som ARK-VENN
{0} til nettpris
med Klikk&Hent
Format/språk (2 forskjellige)
   Klikk og hent - få varen innen 1 time*
   Alltid bytterett - Norges beste. Bytt uten kvittering.
* Gjelder varer på lager i butikk

Kort om boken

'I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do.' -- Edmund de Waal, author of Th…

Oppdag mer

Velg tagger...

    Om The End of Your Life Book Club

    'I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do.' -- Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes 'Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done.' -- Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra 'A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son.' -- Library Journal 'Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more.' -- J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar 'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page.' -- Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper 'At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love.' -- Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You 'an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work.' -- Publishers Weekly starred review 'An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions.' -- Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness 'This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it.' -- Booklist (starred review) 'a moving and inspiring story' -- Choice Magazine 'What self- respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more.' -- BookPage 'a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived.' -- Entertainment Weekly 'a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader.' -- Salon 'Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother' - - Vogue.com 'A truly poignant read ... a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction.' -- Good Housekeeping 'It helps of course if you are a book lover and can relate to the passion for reading, but even prolific readers will find that the book teaches them not only about life and death but about the power of a really good book to move you and peel off the onion skin layers of "what you already know" and reveal truths.' -- Curious Book Fans 'a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie' -- Independent

    Kundevurderinger

    Totalvurdering: 

    Gi din vurdering: 
    Totalvurdering: 

    Detaljer

    Format
    Pocket
    Utgivelsesår
    2013
    Forlag
    Hodder & Stoughton General Div
    Språk
    Engelsk
    ISBN
    9781444706383
    Sider
    352
    Height
    130
    Width
    197

    Anbefalt

    Nettleseren din er utdatert

    Mye funksjonalitet på ark.no støttes ikke lenger i Internet Explorer. Vennligst bruk en nyere nettleser.