Hopp til hovedinnholdet

Everything Under the Sun - The Complete Guide to Pink Floyd

  • Innbundet

  • 2024

  • Engelsk

Pink Floyd formed in London in 1965, signed with EMI in 1967, and recorded their first album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, which was released to immediate acclaim in the same year. Since then, the band has released 15 studio albums and sold over 250 million records. Their eighth album, Dark Side of the Moon, is the highest-selling British album in the world (and fourth overall), at over 40 million copies. Their last album, The Endless River (2014), has sold over ten million copies, and founder members Roger Waters and Nick Mason still (separately) tour the world. Indeed, they hardly need an introduction: their profile remains very high, with millions of fans around the world.

Everything Under the Sun will be a high-level, fully sourced and footnoted analysis of the music of Pink Floyd (akin to Revolution in the Head by Ian Macdonald about The Beatles), and the first serious survey of the group’s work and achievements. As such, it will also be a cultural history of the UK, seen through the prism of the band.

While there is a plethora of books about Pink Floyd and by Pink Floyd former members, none are truly comprehensive or do what this book seeks to do. Some give bald introductions to the songs with analysis, others give stories and anecdotes, and potted histories. But Everything Under the Sun will be the definitive book. In addition to a song-by-song analysis, it will include exclusive band interviews, a full chronology and gig guide, and a full bootleg guide. It will be the go-to book for any Pink Floyd fan.

Ikke tilgjengelig for Klikk&Hent


Forventes i salg 08.08.2024.

  • Bytt i alle våre butikker
  • Klikk og hent

Oppdag mer