Hopp til hovedinnholdet

My Name Is Maame - The bestselling reading group book that will make you laugh and cry this year

  • Lydbok, nedlastbar

  • 2023

  • Engelsk

THE debut of 2023. A blisteringly funny, heartbreaking novel about twenty-something British Ghanaian Maddie as she grapples with identity, love, loss, and becoming the woman she wants to be - for fans of Chewing Gum, Such a Fun Age and Queenie
***
Mum calls me Maame. It has many meanings in Twi, but in my case, it means woman.
Meet Maddie.
To her mostly-absent mum, she's Maame, the woman of the family. To her dad, she's his carer - even if he hardly recognises her. To her friends, she's the one who still lives at home, who never puts herself first.
It's time to become the woman she wants to be.
The kind who wears a bright yellow suit, says yes to after-work drinks and flirts with a thirty-something banker. Who doesn't have to google all her life choices. Who demands a seat at the table.
But to put ourselves together, sometimes we have to fall apart...
Heartbreaking, sharply funny and achingly relatable, Maame is an irresistibly fresh coming-of-age story with a heroine you'll never forget.
'Honest, warm, heart-breaking and heart-healing. It felt truly modern, yet somehow timeless. I adored it'
Nikki May, author of WAHALA
'A poignant coming-of-age tale about finding strength, hope and courage . . . Maame's quiet confidence is true to life and liberating'
Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, author of Yinka, Where is your Huzband?
(P)2023 Hodder & Stoughton Limited
Kjøp lydbok

Digital lydbok

Lydbøker legges i din ARK-app. De kan også lastes ned fra Din side.

Oppdag mer

Lignende bøker

Utvalgte bøker

Recently viewed