Common GroundDid you ever have a friend who made you see the world differently?

Forfatter

Kort om boken

*An Evening Standard Must Read for 2021* 'A wonderful book, both tender and wise' Okechukwu Nzelu 'Immersive and timely... you will root for Charlie and Stan from the first page' Deepa Anappara From the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES, a bitterswe…

Oppdag mer

Velg tagger...
Spar {0}
Spar {0} som ARK-VENN
{0} til nettpris
med Klikk&Hent
Format/språk (2 forskjellige)
   Klikk og hent - få varen innen 2 timer*
   Alltid bytterett - Norges beste. Bytt uten kvittering.
* Gjelder varer på lager i butikk

    Om Common Ground

    *An Evening Standard Must Read for 2021* 'A wonderful book, both tender and wise' Okechukwu Nzelu 'Immersive and timely... you will root for Charlie and Stan from the first page' Deepa Anappara From the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN. It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects? The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty? (P) 2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd


    I loved it. When so many of us are missing friends and feeling isolated, this novel feels like balm on a wound A generous and disarming tale of loyalty, injustice and hope Her writing is so brilliant Immersive... here is a writer whose imagination is propelled by compassion, but who underpins her fiction with steely realism A timely and bittersweet novel, full of hope An attentive and considered tribute to friendship, reminding us that, for all our human messiness, to have a friend is to enter an enduring pact to face the world together Tender but never sentimental, COMMON GROUND is a glorious novel about friendship, prejudice and injustice, which exposes the common threads that bind us together I adored this book. Quietly stole my heart, and the ending was breathtaking., It left me with so much to think about. A beautiful novel Tender and savvy... engrossingly old fashioned A heartfelt, moving depiction of growing up in a complex world together. A joy to read

    Kundevurderinger

    Totalvurdering: 

    Gi din vurdering: 
    Totalvurdering: 

    Detaljer

    Format
    Nedlastbar lydbok
    Kopisperre
    Vannmerket (SDRM)
    Utgivelsesår
    2021
    Språk
    Engelsk
    ISBN
    9781472273314
    Spilletid
    619min.

    Anbefalt